04 Dec 2017

2017 Winners Announced!



 Adrian Lester and Babou Cesay were amongst some of the stars who attend the event

 London: Monday 4th December 2017 – Leading lights from the world of Film and TV gathered on Saturday night at the TriForce Short Film Festival 2017 to support diversity across the industry.

Stars including Adrian Lester, Babou Cesay and Cathy Tyson walked the red carpet at the festival’s gala event at BAFTA, where Adara Todd’s Twiddly Things was awarded the prestigious Best of the Fest prize.









The event marks six years since the TriForce Short Film Festival was launched with a focus on recognising and supporting emerging diverse talent. Hundreds of entries were submitted to a panel of judges including director Neil Biswas, writer John Byrne, BBC Assistant Commissioner Jay Davidson, Shiver’s Michelle Matherson, Carter Pilcher, CEO of Shorts TV, renowned Executive Producer Alexander Gardiner, acclaimed actor Indira Varma and Professor Stefan Allesch-Taylor CBE. The final sixteen films were screened across the day to an audience of peers and key industry representatives.

The festival culminated in the star studded gala where the final four films were screened and the winners of the Best of the Fest Award, the Audience Choice Award, the Williams-Byrne Bursary and the Best Non Scripted Award, were announced. All of the winners were rewarded with career development prizes provided by Professor Stefan Allesch Taylor CBE, ITV’s Shiver, Mandy.com and Lola Williams and John Byrne, as well as cash prizes. Other partners this year included BFI, Creative England, Sargent-Disc Ltd. and Broadcast.

Best of the Fest winning film, Twiddly Things, was celebrated for its in-depth portrayal of Alzheimer’s sufferer Polly as she shares how dementia has impacted her existence. The animated film takes viewers on an emotional journey as she takes them back to memories she remembers, and explains how she feels when she starts to forget.

Todd is a London based animator and producer, specialising in stop motion animation.

The winning film-making team were awarded a £1000 cash prize as well as the chance to pitch to Professor Stefan Allesch-Taylor CBE for funding and mentoring for their next short film. They will also receive support from Moneypenny International in putting together their budget.

The Best Non Scripted Award was won by Mia Mullarkey’s Throwline, which follows a group of taxi drivers in Ireland as they join together to form a suicide prevention group. Uniquely positioned to patrol the night, the drivers keep vigil over the city’s streets and bridges. The short film accompanies the drivers at night and bears witness to their world of rescues and revelations.

Mullarkey won a £500 cash prize as well as the opportunity to meet with Shiver Talent Exec Michelle Matherson following the festival for advice and guidance on her career.

Minnie Ayres, COO of TriForce Creative Network, says: “We’ve been working towards a more inclusive industry both on and off screen since we launched the TriForce Short Film Festival six years ago and are so proud to be at the forefront of the movement for greater diversity in film and TV.

 Selecting the winners is always difficult when you have incredible work to choose from, but this year’s stood out for telling important stories in such a compelling way.”

The Audience Choice Award, voted by the audience on the night, also went to Mia Mullarkey’s Throwline. The Audience Choice Award winner took home a £250 cash prize as well as mentoring from the Mandy.com team.

 The winner of the Williams-Byrne Bursary of £1000 was Steve Brett’s Abe, a heartfelt story of love and loss. The short film follows the struggle of Abe, a reclusive, mentally ill, homeless man as he tries to make sense of his life on the streets of Los Angeles.

 The other finalist film was:


 A suicidal farmer’s life hangs in the balance as he waits for it to rain, in this powerful drama from Simran Sidhu. A Punjabi language short film, Rain takes you on an intense journey and stars Yashpal Sharma from the Oscar-nominated Lagaan.

 All prize winners also receive a copy of HitFilm 4 Pro, a VFX and editing software to help them with their next project, as well as a free subscription to online film academy, Indie Film Hustle

 TFSFF boasts a wealth of high profile patrons which include; writer, director and sometime actor, Kathy Burke, The Walking Dead star David Morrissey, Broadchurch’s Marianne Jean Baptiste, actor David Oyelowo (Selma, Nightingale), actress Kacey Ainsworth, (EastEnders, Grantchester), producer Hilary Bevan Jones (The Escape Artist, Roald Dahl’s Esio Trot), Oscar winning director Kevin Macdonald (The Last King of Scotland, State of Play), actor, writer and director Noel Clarke (Star Trek Into Darkness, Kidulthood), Nicholas Pinnock (Top Boy, Fortitude), Zawe Ashton (Dreams of a Life, Fresh Meat) and award winning writer Roy Williams OBE.

TFSFF, which is a career development focused initiative, has also secured a number of high profile companies and organisations as partners for this year’s festival, including Professor Stefan Allesch Taylor CBE, Sargent Disc Ltd., Creative England, the BFI, Shorts TV, Mandy.com, Rapid Pictures, Spark Media, the Mama Youth Project, the National Film and Television School, Indie Film Hustle, HitFilm, Miffy Moments, Popcorn Kitchen, The Athenaeum Hotel, Nails Inc and Franklin & Sons,  who will be providing seminar speakers, prizes, opportunities and guidance to entrants and attendees, as well as supporting seminars, awards and the industry expo room at BAFTA.

 *** ENDS ***

For further information please contact:

 Melanie Webb melanie@franklinrae.com

Abigail Williams, abigail@franklinrae.com